twitter google

WSOF 22 With Rousimar Palhares-Jake Shields Generates Strong Ratings

wsof 22

The recent World Series of Fighting 22 card – that aired opposite UFC 190 – brought back the best ratings for the promotion on NBC Sports Network in over a year.

Rousimar Palhares defended his welterweight title with a submission win over Jake Shields in the main event. The two-hour telecast averaged 254,000 viewers.

Below is the complete release from the WSOF on the news:

The live NBCSN telecast of “WSOF 22: Palhares vs. Shields” averaged 254,000 viewers during the two-hour live telecast that began at 10:40 p.m. ET/7:40 p.m. PT – ranking as the best World Series of Fighting show on NBCSN in more than a year (6/21/14). In addition, the viewership is up 9% from NBCSN’s 2014 WSOF average of slightly over 233,000.

“We are thrilled with the outstanding, recent performance of our programming on NBCSN,” said World Series of Fighting CEO Carlos Silva. “World Series of Fighting has been putting on some incredible fights in our decagon cage, and NBCSN has been a great partner, offering its audience a healthy dose of both live events and replays of recent, past events, all of which undoubtedly helps the continued growth of our brand and our great sport through consistent and prominent exposure to a national audience.

“WSOF 22: Palhares vs. Shields” was headlined by a long-awaited showdown between World Series of Fighting World Welterweight (170 pounds) Champion Rousimar “Toquinho” Palhares and challenger and two-time world champion Jake Shields

Live World Series of Fighting action returns to NBCSN with “WSOF 23: Gaethje vs. Palomino II” on Friday, September 18 at 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT from Comerica Theatre in Phoenix, Ariz. In the highly-anticipated main event, undefeated, reigning world lightweight (155 pounds) champion Justin “The Highlight” Gaethje will put his title on the line for the second time against hard-hitting Luis “Baboon” Palomino.