twitter google

This Week In MMA History: Brock Lesnar’s Octagon Debut, Randy Couture’s “Retirement”

tito ortiz

Plenty to cover for “This Week in MMA History,” as the UFC for one always looked to put a primetime event on Super Bowl weekend.

The following are some of the more noteworthy events that took place between February 1-7:

UFC 169

Renan Barao cemented his status as the king of the bantamweights when he finished Urijah Faber in the main event on February 1, 2014 in Newark, New Jersey. The event generated over $1.6 million at the gate and brought 14,308 fans to the Prudential Center.

Along with Barao’s performance, his teammate, Jose Aldo, successfully defended his featherweight title with a decision win over Ricardo Lamas.

Other winners were Alistair Overeem, Ali Bagautinov, Abel Trujillo, Alan Patrick, Chris Cariaso, Nick Catone, Al Iaquinta, Clint Hester, Rashid Magomedov and Neil Magny.

UFC 156

Frankie Edgar got his chance to become a two-division champion in the UFC on February 2, 2013 taking on Jose Aldo in Las Vegas. “The Answer,” though, was denied, as Aldo retained with a decision victory.

Another former UFC champion was bested on this night, as Rashad Evans dropped a decision to Antonio Rogerio Nogueira. In a shocking result, Antonio Silva knocked out Alistair Overeem 25 seconds into the third round.

Other winners were Demian Maia, Joseph Benavidez, Evan Dunham, Tyron Woodley, Bobby Green, Isaac Vallie-Flagg, Dustin Kimura and Francisco Rivera.


February isn’t a time for many Bellator events, but one did go down on February 7, 2013.

In the main event, Alexander Shlemenko knocked out Maiquel Falcao to win the vacant title. Marlon Sandro, Mike Richman, Alexandre Bezerra and Magomedrasul Khasbulaev all advanced in the featherweight tournament.

Other winners were Joe Elmore, Ronnie Rogers, Clay Harvison and George Hickman.

UFC 143

Somebody other than Georges St-Pierre wore the UFC welterweight title after February 4, 2012 as Carlos Condit earned a decision over Nick Diaz.

With St-Pierre sidelined due to a knee injury, an interim title was created. Condit bested Diaz, winning the bout on all three scorecards.

Fabricio Werdum, Josh Koscheck, Renan Barao, Ed Herman, Dustin Poirier, Edwin Figueroa, Matt Brown, Matthew Riddle, Rafael Natal and Stephen Thompson all picked up wins.

1 of 2