twitter google

UFC Title Challenger To Be Crowned On The Ultimate Fighter 24

the ultimate fighter 24

A special prize will await the winner of The Ultimate Fighter 24 later this year.

Officials announced on Tuesday that the fighter to come out on top of TUF 24 will receive a December UFC flyweight title shot. Sixteen 125-pound fighters will be cast for the season, which will air later this year beginning in August.

Demetrious Johnson is the current – and only to date – fighter to wear the UFC flyweight title. He defends his belt this month vs. Henry Cejudo.

Below is the complete press release with more details:

The search for the next UFC title contender will unfold on season 24 of The Ultimate Fighter as 16 flyweight competitors will compete for a shot at the 125-pound world championship, with the winner to face the UFC flyweight champion at The Ultimate Fighter Finale in December. Tryouts are scheduled for Monday, April 25 in Las Vegas at Palace Station and are open to all competitors aged 21-34 with at least three professional fights and a winning record. The next season of The Ultimate Fighter will begin filming in June and will premiere on FS1 on Wednesday, August 31.

World class coaches, guest coaches, and former opponents of the current champion will be brought in throughout the season to break down film and help the contestants tailor their training to a game plan designed to help them become the next UFC champion. The two finalists will compete in the final episode of the season and the winner will face the flyweight champion at the Finale just days after the season concludes.

Applications, which should be completed and brought to tryouts, can be found online at The athletes will be required to grapple and hit pads, please bring appropriate gear. Applicants will be notified at the end of the day if they have been selected to move on in the casting process. If selected, applicants must be prepared to stay in Las Vegas until Saturday, April 30. All questions can be directed to

The Ultimate Fighter, which debuted in 2005, has launched the careers of some of the UFC’s most recognizable names and successful athletes. The series has produced champions such as Forrest Griffin, Rashad Evans, TJ Dillashaw, Carla Esparza, and Matt Serra, as well as season winners Michael Bisping, Ryan Bader, Nate Diaz, and John Dodson.