twitter google

UFC Fight Night 71 Recap: Frank Mir Proves Himself Yet Again

ufc fight night 71

After snapping a losing streak at the expense of Antonio “Bigfoot” Silva recently, many still doubted the talents of former champion Frank Mir.

Mir silenced those critics Wednesday night, knocking out Todd Duffee in 73 seconds in the main event of UFC Fight Night 71.

The win moved the 36-year-old Mir’s record to 18-9, including back-to-back first round finishes in under two minutes. He is 5-4 in his last nine, with four of those being fights he ended.

In the co-main event, Tony Ferguson picked up his sixth straight win with a decision victory over Josh Thomson. The two put on a back-and-forth bloody affair, as the former Ultimate Fighter winner rocked Thomson with vicious elbows.

Holly Holm kept her unbeaten streak intact with a decision vs. Marion Reneau, while Manny Gamburyan, Kevin Lee and Alan Jouban all picked up wins on the main card, as well.

Sam Sicilia, Jessica Andrade, Rani Yahya, Sean Strickland, Kevin Casey and Lyman Good were prelim winners. Good, a former Bellator champion, was the lone finisher on the early card, knocking out Andrew Craig.

Jouban and Matt Dwyer picked up “Fight of the Night” honors, while Mir and Ferguson each earned “Performance of the Night” bonuses. All four were given an additional $50,000.

The attendance inside San Diego’s Valley View Casino Center was announced at 5,471 with a live gate of $412,000.

Complete results can be found below:

Frank Mir def. Todd Duffee via KO (strike) at 1:13 of Round 1

Tony Ferguson def. Josh Thomson via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Holly Holm def. Marion Reneau via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26, 29-28)

Manny Gamburyan def. Scott Jorgensen via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Kevin Lee def. James Moontasri via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:56 of Round 1

Alan Jouban def. Matt Dwyer via unanimous decision (29-27, 29-27, 29-27)

Sam Sicilia def. Yaotzin Meza via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Jessica Andrade def. Sarah Moras via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Rani Yahya def. Masanori Kanehara via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Sean Strickland def. Igor Araujo via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-26)

Kevin Casey def. Ildemar Alcantara via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Lyman Good def. Andrew Craig via TKO (strikes) at 3:37 of Round 2