twitter google

UFC Fight Night 59 Recap: Conor McGregor Gets His Title Shot

uriah hall

The UFC invaded Boston Sunday night for UFC Fight Night 59.

Conor McGregor picked Dennis Siver apart for the better part of a round-plus, earning a finish in the second. “Notorious” left Siver bloodied, proceeding to sprint up and over the Octagon to face off with Jose Aldo after.

As McGregor got near Aldo, the reigning UFC featherweight champion, he screamed at him. Aldo didn’t move, just standing there, soaking it in and smiling. The two are expected to meet later this year for the belt.

Meeting for a third time, Donald Cerrone earned a decision victory over Benson Henderson on short notice. Just over two weeks ago, Cerrone defeated Myles Jury, but he agreed to replace Eddie Alvarez and take on the former champion.

Henderson had won the previous two meetings in the WEC, but “Cowboy” claimed the fight this time around.

Uriah Hall scored a first round TKO victory after opening up a huge cut on the face of Ron Stallings, while Gleison Tibau picked up a decision over Norman Parke to open the main card.

In early prelim action, Joby Sanchez, Sean O’Connell, Charles Rosa, Johnny Case, Patrick Holohan, Chris Wade, Lorenz Larkin and Cathal Pendred all earned victories.

O’Connell, Case and Larkin all earned finishes, while Pendred’s triumph over Sean Spencer came as a surprise.

McGregor and Larkin each picked up an additional $50,000 for being awarded “Performance of the Night” bonuses, while the “Fight of the Night” went to O’Connell and Matt Van Buren.

Officials also announced the attendance at 13,828 for a live gate of $1.34 million.

Complete results can be found below:

Conor McGregor def. Dennis Siver via TKO (strikes) at 1:54 of Round 2

Donald Cerrone def. Benson Henderson via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Uriah Hall def. Ron Stallings via TKO (doctor’s stoppage) at 3:37 of Round 1

Gleison Tibau def. Norman Parke via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Cathal Pendred def. Sean Spencer via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Lorenz Larkin def. John Howard via TKO (strikes) at 2:17 of Round 1

Chris Wade def. Zhang Lipeng via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)

Patrick Holohan def. Shane Howell via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Johnny Case def. Frankie Perez via TKO (strikes) at 1:54 of Round 3

Charles Rosa def. Sean Soriano via submission (D’arce choke) at 4:43 of Round 3

Sean O’Connell def. Matt Van Buren via TKO (strikes) at 2:11 of Round 3

Joby Sanchez def. Tateki Matsuda via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)