twitter google

UFC, Bellator Light Up Friday Night With Events

ufc fight night 50

UFC and Bellator MMA put on a pair of shows just miles apart Friday night, and the cards were filled with spectacular highlights and a title change.

UFC Fight Night 50 featured Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza cementing his place among the elite in the world at middleweight with a third round submission over fellow former Strikeforce champion Gegard Mousasi.

Souza earned his fourth straight Octagon win, locking up a guillotine choke. Overall, he is on a seven-fight win streak dating back to 2011.

The card also showcased stunning finishes from Ben Rothwell and Matt Mitrione. Rothwell dropped ex-Strikeforce champion Alistair Overeem in the first round, while Mitrione finished off Derrick Lewis just 41 seconds into the fight.

Joe Lauzon opened the main card with a TKO win over Michael Chiesa after the Octagon-side doctor stopped the contest due to a cut over the eye of Chiesa.

Bellator 123 saw the crowning of a new featherweight champion, as Patricio “Pitbull” Freire topped Pat Curran. Freire, who had previously lost to Curran, earned the win on all three scorecards.

Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal, Tamdan McCrory, Bobby Lashley and Cheick Kongo all picked up wins on the main card.


Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza def. Gegard Mousasi via submission (guillotine choke) at 4:30 of Round 3

Ben Rothwell def. Alistair Overeem via TKO (strikes) at 2:19 of Round 1

Matt Mitrione def. Derrick Lewis via KO (strike) at :41 of Round 1

Joe Lauzon def. Michael Chiesa via TKO (doctor stoppage) at 2:14 of Round 2

John Moraga def. Justin Scoggins via submission (guillotine choke) at :47 of Round 2

Al Iaquinta def. Rodrigo Damm via TKO (strikes) at 2:41 of Round 3

Rafael Natal def. Chris Camozzi via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Chris Beal def. Tateki Matsuda via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Chas Skelly def. Sean Soriano via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)


Patricio “Pitbull” Freire def. Pat Curran via unanimous decision (48-47, 49-46, 49-46) to become Bellator featherweight champion

Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal def. Dustin Jacoby via TKO (strikes) at 1:13 of Round 2

Tamdan McCroy def. Brennan Ward via KO (strike) at 1:21 of Round 1

Bobby Lashley def. Josh Burns via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:54 of Round 2

Cheick Kongo def. Lavar Johnson via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:27 of Round 1

Dan Cramer def. Perry Filkins via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Scott Cleve def. Matt Bessette via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Josh Diekmann def. Mike Wessel via KO (strike) at :47 of Round 1

Steve Garcia def. Kin Moy via split decision (27-30, 29-28, 29-28)

Rico DiSciullo def. Marvin Maldonado via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)