twitter google

UFC 179 Recap: Aldo Remains Champion, Davis Is Wonderful

ufc 179

Jose Aldo and Chad Mendes engaged in an incredible 25-minute bout for the featherweight title Saturday night at UFC 179, with the champion successfully defending his title.

Unlike the first encounter that ended within the opening five minutes, Mendes pushed Aldo to the distance. At the end, “Scarface” was declared the winner on all three scorecards, taking four of the five rounds.

The bout wasn’t without controversy, though, as Aldo connected on two late shots after the bell when the first round ended. No deduction was given for the strikes, and it took Mendes well into the second to fully recover.

Mendes, though, did, storming back and hurting Aldo. He left the champion with a badly damaged face and eye problems, but it wasn’t enough.

In the co-main event, Phil Davis remained unbeaten in Brazil, scoring a decision over Glover Teixeira. The former NCAA wrestling standout dominated the one-time UFC title contender.

Fabio Maldonado, Darren Elkins and Beneil Dariush all earned main card wins, as well, including Maldonado’s TKO win in round two. The other four fights went to the scorecards.

On the prelims, Neil Magny picked up his fifth victory of 2014 when he stopped William Macario in the third round with shots.

Complete results can be found below, and full play-by-play for the card can be found on FightLine:

Jose Aldo def. Chad Mendes via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46) to retain the UFC featherweight championship

Phil Davis def. Glover Teixeira via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Fabio Maldonado def. Hans Stringer via TKO (strikes) at 4:06 of Round 2

Darren Elkins def. Lucas Martins via split decision (30-27, 27-30, 30-27)

Beneil Dariush def. Diego Ferreira via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Neil Magny def. William Macario via TKO (strikes) at 2:40 of Round 3

Yan Cabral def. Naoyuki Kotani via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:06 of Round 2

Wilson Reis def. Scott Jorgensen via submission (head-and-arm choke) at 3:28 of Round 1

Andre Fili def. Felipe Arantes via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Gilbert Burns def. Christos Giagos via submission (armbar) at 4:57 of Round 1

Tony Martin def. Fabricio Camoes via submission (kimura) at 4:16 of Round 1