twitter google

UFC 173 Recap: Dillashaw Stuns World, Becomes Bantamweight Champion

ufc 173

If you missed UFC 173 Saturday night, you missed the crowning of a new bantamweight champion.

T.J. Dillashaw, a heavy underdog, stunned Renan Barao with his quickness and striking, earning a fifth round TKO victory and becoming the UFC champion in the process.

Barao hadn’t lost since his pro debut in 2005, while Dillashaw was competing for just the 12th time as a professional. The alum of The Ultimate Fighter also became the first person to bring UFC gold to Team Alpha Male.

Previously, the champ had suffered championship losses by Urijah Faber, Joseph Benavidez and Chad Mendes.

“I am just going to have a smile on my face for a long time,” Dillashaw said, during the post-fight show on FOX Sports 1.

In other action, Daniel Cormier submitted Dan Henderson with a third round rear-naked choke, as the former U.S. Olympian dominated the contest. He tossed Henderson, also an ex-U.S. Olympic wrestler and former Strikeforce champion, around the cage, taking him down at will.

Following the win, Cormier only talked about fighting UFC light heavyweight champion Jon Jones next. However, it was reported that Jones would meet Alexander Gustafsson in a rematch in August for the belt, leaving “DC” on the sidelines for an extended period.

“I’ll wait,” said Cormier, joining the FS1 post-fight show. “I have eight months to get better.”

Robbie Lawler rebounded from a loss to Johny Hendricks for the vacant UFC welterweight title earlier this year by dominating Jake Ellenberger. “Ruthless” finished off Ellenberger in the third with strikes.

In other main card action, Takeya Mizugaki and James Krause each earned victories. Krause’s win came after Jamie Varner suffered a broken ankle early in the first round but continued to fight.

The prelims featured wins by Michael Chiesa, Tony Ferguson and Chris Holdsworth – all former winners of The Ultimate Fighter.

Below are full results from the card:

UFC Bantamweight Championship
T.J. Dillashaw def. Renan Barao via TKO (strikes) at 2:26 of Round 5 to become the UFC bantamweight champion

Daniel Cormier def. Dan Henderson via technical submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:53 of Round 3

Robbie Lawler def. Jake Ellenberger via TKO (strikes) at 3:06 of Round 3

Takeya Mizugaki def. Francisco Rivera via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

James Krause def. Jamie Varner via TKO (referee stoppage) at 5:00 of Round 1

Michael Chiesa def. Francisco Trinaldo via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-27)

Tony Ferguson def. Katsunori Kikuno via KO (strike) at 4:06 of Round 1

Chris Holdsworth def. Chico Camus via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Mitch Clarke def. Al Iaquinta via submission (D’arce choke) at :57 of Round 2

Vinc Pichel def. Anthony Njokuani via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Sam Sicilia def. Aaron Phillips via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

JingLiang Li def. David Michaud via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)