twitter google

Bellator To Begin “Summer Series” Heavyweight Tourney On June 19

Bellator MMA officials have announced the start of the “Summer Series” for June 19 in Oklahoma. The event will feature a main event fight between lightweight champion Michael Chandler and Dave Jansen.

Also, the main card will boast Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal against Seth Petruzelli and Renato “Babalu” Sobral vs. Jacob Noe in light heavyweight tournament action.

In the heavyweight tourney, Vincius Queiroz battles Rich Hale and Vitaly Minakov takes on Ron Sparks. War Machine will also be featured on the Spike TV main card.

“This event is insanely stacked, and it’s the reason we are making this a jam packed three hour show,” Bellator chairman and CEO Bjorn Rebney said. “With a Lightweight Title fight, Mo, Babalu, War Machine and the start of our heavyweight tournament, this is going to be an amazing show start to finish on Spike.”

A complete prelim card will also air on that night. Fight Master: Bellator MMA will debut following the event.


Bellator Lightweight Title Fight: Michael Chandler (11-0) vs. Dave Jansen (19-2)

Bellator Light Heavyweight Tournament: King Mo Lawal (9-2) vs. Seth Petruzelli (14-7)

Bellator Light Heavyweight Tournament: Renato “Babalu” Sobral (37-10) vs. Jacob Noe (11-2)

Bellator Heavyweight Tournament: Vinicius “Spartan” Queiroz (6-3) vs. Rich Hale (21-5)

Bellator Heavyweight Tournament: Vitaly Minakov (10-0) vs. Ron Sparks (8-1)

War Machine (12-4) vs. Blas Avena (8-6)


Brandon Halsey (3-0) vs. Mike Brown (3-1)

Justin McNally (1-1) vs. Steven Artoff (5-1)

Keith Miner (5-4) vs. Damon Jackson (4-0)

Mike Maldonado (4-0) vs. Jason Sampson (10-1)

Brandon Girtz (8-2) vs. TBA (0-0)

Keith Berry (14-10) vs. Cortez Coleman (9-3)