twitter google

Cage Warriors 53 Results: New Featherweight Titleholder Announced

Cage Warriors returned with an eight fight card over the weekend. The entire event was headlined with the featherweight title getting a new holder.

The main event saw Jim Alers submit Joni Salovaara in the fourth round to take the featherweight gold. Conor McGregor was the champion before vacating it once he signed a UFC contract.

Of Alers’ 10 career wins, all have been stoppages. The recent submission was his eighth. Salovaara drops to 12-6 in what was his Cage Warriors debut.

Cage Warriors 53 came from the Kelvin Hall in Scotland on April 13.

Below are results from the show which aired on MMA Junkie.


Jim Alers def. Joni Salovaara via submission (armbar) at 3:43 of round 4 to win the vacant featherweight championship

Joanne Calderwood def. Sally Krumdiack via TKO (strikes) at 3:08 of round 1

Mats Nilsson def. Chris Scott via unanimous decision

Jason Ball def. Jason Cooledge

Neil Seery def. Paul Marin via TKO (kick, punches) at 1:22 of round 1

James Pennington def. James Doolan via submission (armbar) at :29 of round 1


Jean N’Doye def. Rich Edgeworth via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:41 of round 2

Mark Connor def. Joe Laurence via TKO (strikes) at 2:07 of round 3