twitter google

UFC On Fuel TV 9: Preliminary Breakdown

The UFC returns to Sweden for the second time in the promotion’s nearly 20 year history. UFC on FUEL TV 9 has 13 fights scheduled. Seven of those fights, air on the preliminary card which streams via Facebook. Here’s a breakdown of this Saturday’s preliminary card, which airs at 10:45 a.m. ET. FightLine will have the results and news that follows.

Welterweight: Papy Abedi vs. Besam Yousef
Since making the drop to welterweight, Papy Abedi might be questioning that decision. He enters with a pair of first round submission losses, both via rear naked choke. He was undefeated before that. Besam Yousef also looks for his first UFC win after Simeon Thoresen finished him at the previous FUEL TV show in Sweden. He had six wins prior to that loss.

Middleweight: Michael Kuiper vs. Tom Lawlor
Last year, Michael Kuiper broke even for the UFC at 1-1. He had four potential fights planned, but all fell through as Kuiper returns for the first time since August. Tom Lawlor is 2-4 for the UFC since 2010. He lost a split-decision to Francis Carmont in November, in a fight many thought the Massachusetts native won.

Welterweight: Ben Alloway vs. Ryan LaFlare
Ben Alloway made an impression in his first UFC fight by knocking out Manuel Rodriguez with seconds to go in round one. A front kick, followed by some shots was all the referee needed to see as Alloway earned Knockout of the Night. Ryan LaFlare comes in stopping all of his previous battles. Of his seven wins, only once has LaFlare needed the third round. He’s competed just for Ring of Combat and returned to the sport in January after a nearly three year layoff.

Featherweight: Marcus Brimage vs. Conor McGregor
In late 2011, Marcus Brimage got the call from the UFC and he’s done well since with three wins after dropping to featherweight. Each win has gone to the judges’ scorecard. Ireland’s Conor McGregor looks to end any momentum that Brimage possesses. McGregor ripped apart Cage Warriors, holding their featherweight and lightweight titles at the time of his UFC signing.

Welterweight: Chris Spang vs. Adlan Amagov
The last welterweight bout on the preliminary end has Chris Spang come in as one of the imports when Strikeforce dissolved. He’s 5-1 with that one loss coming to Ricky Legere last year. He takes on Adlan Amagov, who is rather familiar with Strikeforce going 3-1. He makes the cut to welterweight after spending five years as middleweight.

Middleweight: Tor Troeng vs. Adam Cella
After 12 years in the sport, Tor Troeng finally gets his UFC shot and does so in front of his home country. Besides a submission loss in 2010 to Thales Leites, Troeng hasn’t lost in over five years. Adam Cella also debuts for the promotion with a 4-0 record. He’s ended each fight in round one, with three wins occurring in 2012.

Lightweight: Reza Madadi vs. Michael Johnson
The preliminary card ends with Reza Madadi searching for another UFC win after going 1-1 last year. In October, he suffered a split-decision loss to Cristiano Marcello to bring him to 12-3. Michael Johnson had a great 2012 with three wins. That came to a halt at December’s UFC 155 with a decision defeat to Myles Jury.