twitter google

Cage Warriors 52 Results: Gael Grimaud Defends Welterweight Championship

Cage Warriors held their first show of 2013 earlier in the day with the welterweight championship being the headliner. 10 of the fights were stopped.

In the main event, Gael Grimaud lost a decision and his belt as he failed to make his first defense. He won the title in May and had eight straight wins before the loss.

Cathal Pendredhas has now won his last four fights, all taking place out of Cage Warriors since 2012.

Cage Warriors 52 came from the HMV Forum in London earlier in the day and streamed on MMA Junkie.

14 fights took place on the card, with the three opening ones being untelevised.

Below are the results.


Cathal Pendred def. Gael Grimaud via unanimous decision to become the new welterweight champion

Graham Turner def. Fouad Mesdari via TKO (strikes) at 3:05 of round 1

Bruno Carvalho def. Steve Dinsdale via TKO (strikes) at 1:48 of round 2

Jack Mason def. Matt Inman via TKO (strikes) at 4:26 of round 2

Paul McVeigh def. Paul Marin via unanimous decision

Alan Philpott def. Liam James via TKO (strikes) at 3:00 of round 3


Chris Fishgold def. Steve O’Keeffe via submission (guillotine choke) at 1:34 of round 1

Martin McDonough def. Alex Enlund via submission (armbar) at 3:13 of round 1

Paul Redmond def. Alexei Roberts via TKO (strikes) at 4:30 of round 2

Brad Wheeler def. Merv Mulholland via TKO (strikes) at 1:46 of round 1

Dan Hope def. Gary Kono via split decision


Ben Hajir def. Anthony Ferguson via submission (armbar) at 1:42 of round 1

Richard Griffin def. Shah Hussain via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:40 of round 1

Olly Battell def. Shaj Haque via unanimous decision