twitter google

Bellator 86: Welterweight Tournament Brackets Revealed, Title Fight Set

The brackets for Bellator’s Season 8 welterweight tournament have been finalized with opening round action starting at Bellator 86. Like previous tournaments, the winner receives $100,000 and a guaranteed title shot. In the main event, current champion Ben Askren will look for his third title defense against Karl Amoussou.

“From top to bottom, our welterweight division has a collection of pure finishers that have put on some wildly entertaining fights,” said Bjorn Rebney, Bellator CEO. “With a welterweight world title fight, the debut of King Mo and a stacked welterweight tournament, January 24th is going to be a huge night from WinStar World Casino.”

The tournament goes as follows: Ben Saunders vs. Koffi Adzitso, Brent Weedman vs. Marius Zaromskis, Michail Tsarev vs. Douglas Lima and Jose Gomes vs. Raul Amaya.

With the exception of Adzitso and Gomes, the other six fighters have competed in past Bellator tournaments.

Paul Daley was set to compete in the tournament, but due to visa issues was removed. His Bellator return is not known.

Bellator 86 takes place January 24 from the WinStar World Casino in Oklahoma City, OK. Spike TV will air the main card starting at 10 p.m. ET and preliminary fights will be streamed at 8 p.m. from