twitter google

UFC Names Benson Henderson 2012 Fighter Of The Year

Benson Henderson, the reigning UFC lightweight champion, was recently named the 2012 Fighter of the Year by the UFC. Henderson beat out a list that includes champions Jon Jones, Demetrious Johnson, Cain Velasquez and Anderson Silva.

Henderson started the year off by taking the UFC lightweight title from Frankie Edgar in Japan. He went on to successfully defend it vs. Edgar and Nate Diaz, earning three decision victories.

Jones, who finished second on the list, went 2-0 with wins over Rashad Evans and Vitor Belfort. Johnson was third, followed by Matt Brown, Velasquez, Stefan Struve, Cub Swanson, Mike Pyle, Anderson Silva and Costa Philippou.

Henderson joins Jones, Edgar, Georges St-Pierre, Evans and Quinton “Rampage” Jackson as previous winners of the award.