twitter google

“DREAM: New Year! 2011!” Lineup Unveiled

The official bout order for DREAM: New Year! 2011! has been released, as the 17-fight event will cover MMA, kickboxing and pro wrestling bouts. HDNet is set to televise the entire card beginning at 1 a.m. ET Saturday morning.

As expected, the clash between Fedor Emelianenko and Satoshi Ishii will headline the card and be placed in the main event. DREAM championship matches involving lightweight titleholder Shinya Aoki and featherweight champ Hiroyuki Takaya are in the co-main event spots.

Others expected to compete include Tim Sylvia, Jerome Le Banner, Josh Barnett and Ryo Chonan. The semifinals and finals of the bantamweight grand prix will also take place.

Here is the full lineup for the card, which takes place from the Saitama Super Arena in Saitama, Japan.


• Fedor Emelianenko vs. Satoshi Ishii
• Champion Shinya Aoki vs. Satoru Kitaoka (for lightweight title)
• Champion Hiroyuki Takaya vs. Takeshi “Lion” Inoue (for featherweight title)
• Atsushi Sawada and Shinichi Suzukawa vs. Kazushi Sakuraba and Katsuyori Shibata (pro-wrestling match)
• Peter Aerts vs. Kazuyuki Fujita (pro-wrestling match)
• Jerome Le Banner vs. Tim Sylvia (pro-wrestling match)
• Yuichiro Nagashima vs. Katsunori Kikuno (mixed-rules bout)
• Josh Barnett vs. Hideki Suzuki (pro-wrestling match)
• Yuta Kubo vs. Nils Widlund (kickboxing match)
• Masaaki Noiri vs. Kengo Sonoda (kickboxing match)
• Ryo Chonan vs. Hayato “Mach” Sakurai
• Tatsuya Kawajiri vs. Kazuyuki Miyata
• Karla Benitez vs. Megumi Fujii
• Rodolfo Marques Diniz vs. Bibiano Fernandes (bantamweight grand-prix semifinal)
• Antonio Banuelos vs. Masakazu Imanari (bantamweight grand-prix semifinal)
• Yusup Saadulaev vs. Hideo Tokoro (bantamweight grand-prix reserve match)