twitter google

UFC Flyweight Division Coming, 4-Man Tourney Set Up

The UFC flyweight division will begin the process of crowning a champion starting this March, as four fighters embark on the quest starting at UFC on FX 2. The card is slated to take place in Australia according to multiple reports on March 4, airing live in the U.S. on March 3.

UFC president Dana White named Demetrious Johnson, Ian McCall, Joseph Benavidez and Yasuhiro Urushitani as the men who will square off in semifinal round matches to determine who will fight for the title. Johnson will meet McCall, while Benavidez faces Urushitani.

Johnson (9-2) recently challenged Dominick Cruz for the UFC bantamweight title, falling by decision. “Mighty Mouse” was expected to meet Eddie Wineland at UFC on FOX 2 in January, but that bout was scrapped for this one. McCall enters the UFC after winnning the Tachi Palace Fights flyweight title and holds a record of 11-2 overall.

Benavidez is 15-2 overall and 2-0 inside the Octagon, having stopped Wineland and Ian Loveland in his last two fights. Both of Benavidez’ losses have come at the hands of Cruz. Urushitani (19-4-6) carries a five-fight win streak into his UFC debut.