twitter google

Georges St-Pierre Looks To Come Up Big

It wasn’t too long ago that a 185-pound welterweight was considered huge. That was the mark former UFC 170-pound champion Matt Hughes walked around at during his ridiculous title run just five years ago and is the same weight Georges St-Pierre, the Octagon’s reigning welterweight king, checks in at as well.

However, GSP noted that the young sport of mixed martial arts has evolved and as in most cases, bigger is better.

“When I fought [Thiago Alves at UFC 100], he was walking around at 215 pounds,” St-Pierre stated. “I used to walk around at 185. I really felt that when I was fighting Alves, that he was big.”

After experiencing a larger opponent for the first time in his illustrious career, the French-Canadian decided to pack on some pounds in order to keep pace with the division and its ever-changing ways.

“I heard that Anthony Johnson is 220 (pounds), so I decided to follow a diet for the first time in my life,” said St-Pierre. “So, I’m much bigger and much more powerful than I used to be before.”

Although the additional five pounds of muscle he added will make the weight cutting process a little more arduous, he believes it will pay off in the end.

“[The weight cut’s] going to be harder this time, but it’s not a problem for me,” he matter-of-factly stated. “My conditioning is 110 percent. I’m used to cutting weight. I do it in a very scientific way and I don’t tire myself doing it. It’s very important [that] I have a protocol to follow and everything is on [schedule].”

GSP holds a dominant 19-2 record and hasn’t been challenged in his last six landslide outings. He meets British slugger Dan Hardy tonight at UFC 111 in Newark, NJ.

In addition to his physical stature, St-Pierre will be entering the Octagon a heavy 8-to-1 favorite to retain his strap.

UFC 111 coverage begins right here on at 7PM ET/4PM PT, however the televised action kicks off live on Spike TV at 9PM ET/6PM PT, with the pay-per-view broadcast starting at 10PM ET/7PM PT.