twitter google

Stephan Bonnar Loses Appeal

Following a TKO loss to Krzystztof Soszynski at UFC 110 in Sydney, Australia, Stephan Bonnar filed a formal appeal with the Combat Sports Authority of New South Wales to have the result of the bout overturned. The fight was stopped with four minutes left in the bout due to a cut Bonnar received from an accidental headbutt delivered by Soszynski. The referee missed the headbutt and ruled that the cut was the result of a punch; rendering the bout a TKO.

After the CSA reviewed the tape and delegated over the appeal they came to the conclusion that the original call was fair and they did not overturn the referee’s call. received an email from Executive Director of the Combat Sports Authority of New South Wales Craig Waller commenting on their decision. Waller wrote, “A review was held … and the Combat Sports Authority of NSW did not seek to interfere with the referee’s decision.”

Bonnar is not too disappointed with the call (even though the tape very clearly shows that the cut was the result of a headbutt) because he may get a chance to avenge the loss. Recent rumors have Bonnar and Soszynski meeting again at “The Ultimate Fighter” season 11 finale on June 19.

Bonnar told MMAJunkie, “It was obviously a battle between me and [the NSW commission], but as far as the fight, Dana White’s a fair guy, and I’m pretty confident we’ll have that rematch soon.”

Immediately after the fight, Soszynski agreed to a rematch with Bonnar, but nothing is official as of yet.