twitter google

Strikeforce Challengers Weigh-In Results

All 18 fighters who will compete in the Strikeforce Challengers mixed martial arts (MMA) event on Friday, Nov. 6 weighed in on Thursday at the World Sports Café in Fresno, Calif.

In the main event on Showtime, undefeated lightweight (155-pound limit) sensation Billy Evangelista (9-0) will square off with Brazilian Jiu Jitsu black belt Jorge Gurgel (13-5) at the Save Mart Center in Fresno.

Other televised fights include a showdown between promising undefeated heavyweight prospects Shane Del Rosario (8-0) and Brandon Cash “Money” (5-0). Rising middleweight (185 pounds) stars Luke Rockhold (5-1) and Jesse “J T Money” Taylor (13-4) will duke it out, lightweights Thomas Diagne (1-0) and Merritt Warren (4-2) will square off and Zoila Frausto (3-0) will face Elisha Helsper (0-1) in a matchup of female MMA fighters.

On the undercard, former Fresno State University wrestling star and Fresno native Casey “The Underdog” Olson (11-3) will return to action in the cage in a lightweight matchup against Justin Smitley (6-5), Fresno’s Ben Holscher (3-0), a Health teacher and wrestling coach at Clovis High School, will take on Johnny Goh (1-2) in a lightweight matchup and Fresno’s submission expert Cole Escovedo (13-4) will face San Jose’s Anthony Figueroa (4-4).

Tickets for the Strikeforce Challengers event are on sale at the Save Mart Center box office and select Save Mart Supermarkets as well as at all Ticketmaster locations (800-745-3000), Ticketmaster online ( and Strikeforce’s official website (

Save Mart Center doors will open for the Strikeforce Challengers event at 5:15 p.m. PT. The first live, non-televised, preliminary bout will begin at 6 p.m. The Showtime telecast begins at 11 p.m. ET/PT, delayed on the west coast).


Billy Evangelista: 159

Jorge Gurgel: 159

Brandon Cash “Money”: 256

Shane Del Rosario: 240

Luke Rockhold: 185 ½

Jesse Taylor: 186

Thomas Diagne: 155 ½

Merritt Warren: 154

Zoila Frausto: 132 ½

Elisha Helsper: 134 ½

Non-televised fights:

Ben Holscher: 155 ½

Johnny Goh: 154

Casey Olson: 145 ½

Chris Culley: 148 ½

Cole Escovido: 135 ½

Maurice Eazel: 133

Alex Trevino: 170 ½

Rico Altamirano: 171