twitter google

UFC 81: Breaking Point Results

Welcome to our live coverage of UFC 81 from the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas.


Rob Emerson vs. Keita Nakamura is up first. Rob Emerson defeated Keita Nakamura via Split Decision (30-27 Emerson, 29-28 Nakamura, 30-27 Emerson).

Marvin Eastman defeated Terry Martin via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Tim Boetsch defeated David Heath by via ref stoppage (strikes) in Round 1.

Chris Lytle defeated Kyle Bradley via TKO in seconds in the first round.


Tyson Griffin vs. Gleison Tibau
Round 1 The two exchanged punches with Griffing getting the better of it before Tibau took Griffin down to the ground. It was an exciting and competitive round, I’d go 10-9 for Griffin.

Round 2 Tibau connected with some good punches and took Griffin to the ground again. They got back up shortly. They continued to trade punches. Griffin was swinging wildly and then taken back down before getting back up again as the horn sounded. I’d score it 10-9 for Tibau.

Round 3 Tibau took Griffin to the ground again. Griffin hit some great body shots before Tibau took him down again, only for Griffin to get back up. Pace was slower this round. They were pressed up against the cage for the last minute of the round before they broke and the horn sounded. I’d score it 10-9 for Tibau.

Winner: All judges scored the fight 30-27 for Tyson Griffin.

Ricardo Almeida vs. Rob Yundt
Round 1 Almeida took Yundt down early in the round, landed a punch and got a guillotine On Yundt, causing Yundt to tap.

Winner: Ricardo Almeida via submission in Round 1

Jeremy Horn vs. Nate Marquardt
Round 1 Marquardt took Horns down early and was in Horns’ guard. Marquardt hit some hard shots while on top. They got back up with 3 minutes left only for Marquardt to take Horn back down. Marquardt continued to dominate Horn. Horn almost got a couple of submissions in before the round ended. I’d still score it 10-9 for Marquardt.

Round 2 Marquardt slipped early in the round and Horn took control. Marquardt got a standing guillotine on Horn and submitted Jeremy Horn.

Winner: Nate Marquardt via submission in Round 2

Brock Lesnar vs. Frank Mir is up next. They are showing the Tim Boetsch – David Heath fight first from earlier in the night.

Brock Lesnar vs. Frank Mir
Mir came in first. Lesnar got a lot of booes coming out. Kurt Angle and The Undertaker were shown in the audience. “Stone Cold” Steve Austin was shown to a big response from the crowd. Rena “Sable” Mero, Lesnar’s wife, was also shown.

Round 1 Lesnar immediately took Mir to the ground and started pnching Mir. Referee Steve Mazzagatti broke them up and took a point away from Lesnar for punching Mir in the back of the head. Lesnar took Mir down again and started pounding away at Mir, but Mir got Lesnar in a knee bar and submitted Lesnar.

Winner: Frank Mir via submission in Round 1

Lesnar won the crowd over with his interview after the fight. Lesnar gave props to Mir, and said that he’ll be back. Lesnar looked very impressive in the fight until he got caught by Mir, and looked like he was going to put Mir away early. He really was pounding Mir into the mat until the referee broke them up for Lesnar hitting Mir in the back of the head. With a little more work in training to avoid submissions, Lesnar could become a top contender.

Tim Sylvia vs. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira (Interim UFC HW Title)
Round 1 Sylvia rocked Nogueira with hard right and knocked Nogueira down and nearly knocked him out. Sylvia continued to land blows on Nogueira and Nogueira was in deep trouble a few times. Nogueira took Sylvia down as the horn blew. 10-9 for Sylvia.

Round 2 Sylvia’s reach advantage continued to be a problem for Nogueira. Sylvia stuffed a couple of takedown attempts for Nogueira and hit Nogueira with more punches to the head. Another 10-9 round for Sylvia.

Round 3 Sylvia landed a big right early on. Finally Nogueira was able to take Sylvia down and got on top. Nogueira was able to get a guillotine on Sylvia and got the come from behind victory!

Winner and new UFC Interim Heavyweight Champion: Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira via submission in Round 3.