twitter google

Cage Warriors 59 Results: Brett Johns Goes Eight Rounds To Claim Bantamweight Title

Cage Warriors was busy today, with the bantamweight and featherweight titles being decided.

Jim Aler remained the featherweight champion and Brett Johns emerged as the new bantamweight title bearer. Johns fought for eight rounds on the card, taking a decision in the semifinals before a five-round split decision win over Jordan Desborough.

The bantamweight title had been vacant since Conor McGregor signed a UFC deal.

Cage Warriors 59 came from the Motorpoint Arena in England. Below are the complete results.


Brett Johns def. Jordan Desborough via split decision in the bantamweight tournament finals

Jim Alers def. Martin Svensson via unanimous decision for the featherweight championship

Tommy Maguire def. Lewis Long via submission (guillotine choke) at 2:56 of round 3

Mats Nilsson def. Denniston Sutherland TKO (punches) at 2:40 of round 2

Dave Hill def. Brian Moore via unanimous decision

Lee Caers def. Aaron Thomas via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:31 of round 1


Sam Gilbert def. Jamie Rogers via submission (triangle choke) at 1:52 of round 2

Brett Johns def. David Haggstrom via unanimous decision in the bantamweight tournament opening round

James Pennington def. Kris Edwards via unanimous decision in the bantamweight tournament opening round

Jordan Desborough def. Timur Mercanoglu via TKO (elbows) at 2:20 of round 2

Brett Caswell def. Paul Rogers via unanimous decision