twitter google

Bellator 155 Change: Marloes Coenen-Alexis Dufresne Now Meet In Non-Title Fight

marloes coenen

Marloes Coenen and Alexis Dufresne will now meet at Bellator 155, but it will not be to crown the first-ever Bellator female featherweight champion.

Officials announced that Dufresne will replace Julia Budd, who suffered an injury in training.

A former Strikeforce champion, Coenen is riding a two-fight winning streak and undefeated record under Bellator MMA into her bout with Dufresne. “Rumina” began her career winning eight consecutive fights and 13 of her first 14.

The 35-year-old has been competing professionally since 2000 and has been an integral part of the progression of women’s mixed martial arts, challenging some of the best that the sport has to offer.

Dufresne, 10 years youngers than Coenen, began her career with a blazing start, earning victories in her first five scraps, all of which she ended in the first round. Born in Temecula, Calif., “Sneaky Zebra” has strung together an impressive resume, including three straight first round knockout wins dating back to her 2013-14 seasons and most recently two appearances for the UFC.

Dufresne will be making her Bellator MMA debut.

The bout headlines the online portion of the card, which takes place next Friday night from the CenturyLink Arena in Boise, Idaho. In the main event, Melvin Manhoef challenges Rafael Carvalho for the middleweight title on Spike TV.

Below is the complete lineup:

MAIN CARD (Spike TV/9 p.m. ET)

Bellator Middleweight Championship
Rafael Carvalho (c) vs. Melvin Manhoef

Featherweight: Pat Curran vs. Georgi Karakhanyan

Heavyweight: Dan Charles vs. Augusto Sakai

Lightweight: Marcin Held vs. Dave Jansen

Heavyweight: Joey Beltran vs. Chase Gormley


Female Featherweight: Marloes Coenen vs. Alexis Dufresne

Bantamweight: Joe Hamilton vs. Tyler Freeland

Flyweight: Veta Arteaga vs. Jackie Vandenburgh

Featherweight: Vince Morales vs. Hamilton Ash

Bantamweight: Brendon Raftery vs. Casey Johnson

Lightweight: Scott Thometz vs. Josh Tyler

Middleweight: Sean Powers vs. Will Noland

Bantamweight: Ricky Steele vs. Erick Cronkhite

Bantamweight: Jesse Brock vs. Olly Bradstreet