twitter google

Bellator 131 Recap: Will Brooks Stuns Michael Chandler, Becomes Champion

will brooks

Will Brooks stole the show at Bellator 131 Saturday night, becoming the first man to stop Michael Chandler and win the lightweight title in the process.

Brooks landed a huge right-hand on his way up from the canvas that rocked Chandler, a former champion himself. Chandler backed against the fence and put his hands up in the air, almost asking for time to be called. Brooks followed up with several uncontested shots and the referee stepped in to call an end to the fight in the fourth round.

Chandler appealed instantly, but official Jason Herzog simply told him he was out on his feet and wasn’t defending himself.

In the main event, Tito Ortiz scored a split decision victory over Stephan Bonnar in a meeting of UFC Hall of Famers.

Joe Schilling, Mike Richman and Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal all earned stoppage victories on the Spike TV main card, including a one-punch knockout by Schilling over Melvin Manhoef.

Check out complete results below, and full play-by-play of the main card on FightLine:

Tito Ortiz def. Stephan Bonnar via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 30-27)

Will Brooks def. Michael Chandler via TKO (strikes) at 3:48 of Round 4 to become the Bellator lightweight champion

Joe Schilling def. Melvin Manhoef via KO (strike) at :32 of Round 2

Mike Richman def. Nam Phan via KO (strike) at :46 of Round 1

Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal def. Joe Vedepo via TKO (strikes) at :39 of Round 3

Joao Faria def. Ian Butler via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 1:58 of Round 3

A.J. Matthews def. Kyle Bolt via KO (strike) at 1:39 of Round 1

Jonathan Santa Maria def. Ron Henderson via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)

Andy Murad def. Bubba Pugh via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Nick Garcia def. Matt Ramirez via submission (guillotine choke) at :56 of Round 1

Jordan Bailey def. Alex Higley via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:27 of Round 1

Rolando Perez vs. Mark Vorgeas ruled a draw (29-27, 26-30, 28-28)